Schedule

Check this page frequently throughout the semester–upcoming content and/or schedule details might change.
(OUE n = Observing the User Experience, 2nd Edition, Chapter n)

Section 1: Theories, Principles and Methods in User-Centered Interaction Design

WEEK 1 Date Reading Topic Assignment
Mon Jan 6 Human Abilities, Perception [T-Sq] Introduction, Course Project [T-Sq] Short Survey (Out)
Wed Jan 8 Melanie Clark on GT IRB [PPT] [PDF] CITI Training (Out)
Fri Jan 10 Color Vision, Peripheral Vision, Model Human Processor [T-Sq] Project Scope, UCD, Design Thinking [T-Sq] Short Survey (Due)
WEEK 2
Mon Jan 13 Sketching and Storyboard Guides (for HW1) [T-Sq] Human Abilities: Perception and Cognition (1 of 2) [T-Sq] CITI Training (Due)
P0 (Out)
Wed Jan 15 Blomberg, Burrell. Ethnographic Approach…[T-Sq] Human Abilities: Perception and Cognition (2 of 2) [T-Sq] HW1 (Out)
Fri Jan 17 OUE 9, Mander, Sullivan, and Wong. A “Pile” Metaphor…[ACM CHI '92], Optional: BumpTop demo Daniel Machado on Observation, Field Visits [T-Sq] P0 (Due)
WEEK 3
Mon Jan 20   Martin Luther King Jr. Day
Wed Jan 22 OUE 6, OUE 7 More Cognition, Formative to Summative Studies [T-Sq] HW1 (Due),
P1 (Out)
Fri Jan 24 OUE 15 Qualitative Research Methods: Interviews and Focus Groups [T-Sq]
WEEK 4
Mon Jan 27 Review of design guidelines  [T-Sq], Hierarchical Task Analysis [T-Sq] User-Centered Design Principles [T-Sq]
Wed Jan 29 NO CLASS – CAMPUS CLOSED  
Fri Jan 31 GOMS, KLM, Fitts’ Law [T-Sq] James Clawson on Modeling Interaction: Predictive Approaches [T-Sq]  HW2 (Out)
WEEK 5
Mon Feb 3 M. Rettig. Prototyping for Tiny Fingers. [ACM link], M. Beaudouin-Lafon, W. Mackay, Prototyping Tools … [T-Sq] Design and Prototyping (1 of 2), WoZ Studies [T-Sq]
Optional Reading: S. Houde, C. Hill. What Do Prototypes Prototype? [link], Special issue: The Art of Prototyping. Interactions 13, 1 (Jan 2006) [ACM link]
Wed Feb 5 H. Hutchinson, et al. Technology Probes…[PDF], L. Mamykina, B. Mynatt, D. Kaufman. Investigating Health Management…[PDF], OUE 17 Design and Prototyping (2 of 2), Technology Probes  [T-Sq]
Fri Feb 7 In-Class Prototyping Activity P1 (Due)
WEEK 6
Mon Feb 10 B. Nardi. Studying Context…[T-Sq] Personas, Scenarios, Cognition in Context [T-Sq] P2 (Out)
Wed Feb 12 NO CLASS – CAMPUS CLOSED 
Fri Feb 14 OUE 12 Usability Evaluation (1 of 2) [T-Sq] HW2 (Due)
WEEK 7
Mon Feb 17 Prep for Project Discussions [T-Sq]
Wed Feb 19 Project Discussions (1 of 4)
Team 5: HR Onboarding
Libertas Labs: IoT/QS
 HW2 Due
Fri Feb 21 Project Discussions (2 of 4)
Team 0/7: Internet of Things
Team 1: Wearable DCI
WEEK 8
Mon Feb 24 Keenan May on Usability Metrics [T-Sq]
Wed Feb 26 Project Discussions (3 of 4)
Team 3: Wearable Healthcare Interface
Team 8: Staff Communicator
Fri Feb 28 Project Discussions (4 of 4)
Team 6: IoT
Team 2: Team Food Navigator
WEEK 9
Mon Mar 3 Class Activity: Design Feedback
Wed Mar 5 Foundations of HCI Research [T-Sq], Experimental Design in HCI [T-Sq] Usability Evaluation (2 of 2), Survey Design [T-Sq]
Fri Mar 7 No Class P2 (Due), P3 (Out)

Section 2:  Topics in Human-Computer Interaction

WEEK 10
Mon Mar 10 Panel Papers Privacy and Usable Security
Wed Mar 12 Panel Papers 3D UIs and Augmented Reality
Fri Mar 14 Andrew Miller on Collaboration/CSCW [T-Sq]
WEEK 11
M-F Mar 17-21 Spring Break
WEEK 12
Mon Mar 24 Panel Papers Wearable Technology
Wed Mar 26 Panel Papers Computing on the Body
Fri Mar 28 Panel Papers NUIs and Multi-Touch Devices
WEEK 13
Mon Mar 31 Panel Papers Human Computation and Crowdsourcing
Wed Apr 2 Panel Papers Online Communities (Observed by Daniel Machado)
Fri Apr 4 Keenan May on Control, Input [T-Sq] P3 (Due)
WEEK 14
Mon Apr 7 Gregory Abowd on Ubiquitous Computing  P4 (Out)
Wed Apr 9 Panel Papers Personal Informatics
Fri Apr 11 Panel Papers Supporting Personal Health and Wellness
WEEK 15
Mon Apr 14 Panel Papers Promoting Socio-Environmental Responsibility
Wed Apr 16 Panel Papers Multimodal UIs
Fri Apr 18 Metaphors We Live By c1-6 Metaphors in HCI [T-Sq]  
WEEK 16
Mon Apr 21 Metaphors in HCI (cont), History of HCI [T-Sq]
Wed Apr 23 Poster Session in GVU Cafe, TSRB
Fri Apr 25 Wrap-Up P4 (Due)
WEEK 17
Fri May 2 Final Exam: 2:50pm – 5:40pm